Palm Cove Estates HOA
Stop For School Busses
Updated: Jul 9, 2020
Here's some excellent information about stopping for school buses.
***The following information is from Stop For School Buses PDF from the Florida Department of Transportation:
SCHOOL BUS FACTS School buses are very safe, but the most dangerous part of the school bus ride is getting on or off the bus. The loading and unloading area is called the "Danger Zone" and consists of the 10 ft area in front or in back of the bus and 10 ft on either side of the bus. Half of the pedestrian fatalities in school bus related crashes are children between 5 and 7 years old.
Young children are more likely to be struck because they:
Hurry to get on and off the bus
Act before they think
Have little experience with traffic
Assume motorists will see them and wait for them to cross the street
Don't always stay within the bus driver's sight
Please remind children:
If something falls under or near a bus, tell the driver. NEVER try to pick it up yourself!
While waiting for the bus, stay in a safe place away from the street and danger zone.
When you get on or off a bus, look left, right, left before you enter or cross the street.
When the driver says it is safe to cross the street, remember to cross IN FRONT of the bus.
Stay in your seat and sit quietly so that the driver is not distracted.
In a 180-day school year, it is estimated that there are almost 2 Million illegal "pass-by's" of Florida school buses, each representing the possibility of tragic injuries or fatalities to students.
Twenty five million children ride school buses to and from school each day. Each year, there are about 15 pedestrian fatalities at school bus stops in the United States.
Florida Motor Vehicle Laws require that motorists stop upon approaching any school bus that displays its flashing red lights and has its stop signs extended. Penalties for breaking these laws can include fines, points on your license, and even suspension of your license.
Florida law specifies when you must stop for school buses. If you violate the law you commit a moving violation:
You must pay a minimum civil penalty of $165 and will incur 4 points against your driver license.
You must complete a basic driver improvement course.
For another offense within five years, your driver license will be suspended for at least 90 days.
The most serious violation, an illegal pass on the side of the bus where students enter and exit the bus, will result in severe penalties, ranging from a minimum fine of $265 and up to a one year license suspension.
Click here to download Stop For School Buses PDF with illustrations describing the laws regarding school bus safety.
The Forms and Resources Page has HOA forms and great info available for download.